The programme regarding the17th annual European Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Congress is online as of now!

Download the full programme here

Race approval

The American Association of Veterinary State Boards RACE committee has reviewed and approved the 17th European Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Congress as meeting the Standards adopted by the AAVSB.  This will be evidenced on your Certificate of Attendance that will be e-mailed to you after the event!

The programme is approved by the AAVSB RACE to offer a total of 40.00 CE Credits (14.50 max) to veterinarians and/or 50.00 Veterinary Technician CE Credits (14.50 max). 

Meet our 2018 Keynote Speakers:

Terri DeFrancesco

Dr. Terri DeFrancesco is a Professor in Cardiology and Critical Care with tenure at the North Carolina State University, College of Veterinary Medicine, in Raleigh, NC. She is also the Assistant Department Head in the Department of Clinical Sciences, Small Animal Focus Leader and Chief of Specialty Services for the NC State Veterinary Hospital.

Dr. DeFrancesco completed her DVM degree at Cornell University in 1991, followed by a small animal rotating internship at Virginia Tech and residencies in Cardiology and Emergency/Critical Care both at the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State University. She is double-boarded in Cardiology and Emergency and Critical Care and has been on faculty at NC State since 1995. She has been the recipient of numerous teaching and clinical awards including two-time recipient of the Pfizer Norden Teaching award, four-time recipient of the Clinician of the year award, and the NCVMA NCSU Clinician of the year award.

Dr. DeFrancescos areas of interest include improving the diagnosis and treatment of heart failure in dogs and cats, point of care ultrasound, cardiac emergency management including arrhythmias management, pacemaker and ventilator therapy. 


Daniel Fletcher

Dr. Fletcher has been on the faculty of the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine since 2006. After receiving a BS in Electrical Engineering from Drexel University and a PhD in Bioengineering from the University of California Berkeley/Dan Francisco, he obtained his DVM from the University of California at Davis. He then completed a rotating internship and emergency and critical care residency at the University of Pennsylvania. He has received multiple teaching awards, including the 2013 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence and is co-chair of the RECOVER Initiative, which published the first evidence-based veterinary CPR guidelines.

His research interests include disorders of fibrinolysis, epilepsy, and the use of immersive simulation in teaching. He has been building simulators for veterinary education since 2009 and opened the Tetlow and Roy Park Innovation Lab, an immersive simulation center at Cornell in the fall of 2015.